Skip to main content

FPRA Pensacola Chapter honors Media Person of the Year and installs new board

The Pensacola Chapter of the Florida Public Relations Association honored several outstanding individuals and installed the 2017-2018 board of directors at its August luncheon.

The 2017 Media Person of the Year was recognized as Lani Suchcicki, planning editor for the Pensacola News Journal. She was nominated by several peers within the community, being described as the “hero of the media world.”

Several FPRA Pensacola Chapter members were also honored with special awards. Brandi Gomez, Gulf Power, received the President’s Award, while Sarah Whitfield, Santa Rosa County, received the Member of the Year award.

In addition to the celebration, the new FPRA Pensacola Chapter board was installed.

The new officers include: president, Brandi Gomez; president-elect/VP membership, Sarah Whitfield; past president, Nicole Stacey, Visit Pensacola; treasurer, Megan Siefert, ProHealth; secretary, Mandy Fernandez, Baptist Health Care; vice president of programs, Josh Newby, Council on Aging of West Florida; vice president of networking, Mallory Wilson, Sacred Heart Foundation; vice president of Image Awards, Kim Stefansson, Escambia County School District; vice president of communications, Amy Minchin; vice president of accreditation, Sonya Daniel, APR, Escambia County Supervisor of Elections Office; at-large, Cam Johnson, Cox Communications.